401st blog post and washing solar panels


Wow! Over 400 blog posts. When I started this blog back in August of 2010, I had no idea I would have posted this many or continued this long. I must be in for the long haul. It has been a pleasure to serve the solar community this way and my friends. So many people have told me they look forward to my blog each day and have learned a lot about going solar, at least from the lease/purchase connected to the grid kind. I am grateful to my family for suggesting I do this blog and to my friends who went solar before me, especially Mark in Arizona. He has had solar for at least 20 years and his panels are still going strong. I am grateful for Robert for going solar and my neighbor Gordy. To all the others that are thinking about going solar, hurry up! To all my Deaf friends who are thinking of going solar, hurry up! To all my friends in Riverside that can’t get a solar lease, bug the city to open it up to you. I heard that Glendale too is restrictive on solar leasing, but they might open up to big companies soon.

To all my friends that have gone solar, bravo to you all for helping the planet, your country and your families. Good going.

Here’s to 400 more blog posts.

The other day, I noticed quite a few small spots on my solar panels of bird droppings. I love birds but not bird droppings. Does anyone have a quick and easy way to get them off? They didn’t come off with the hose water or the towel. They do come off if I scrape each one off with my fingernail. Oh that’s fun and clean. Suggestions?

Here is today’s solar panel output graph for 7/23/11. Yes, I am still on vacation. Not a paid vacation, but a vacation from work.

About dansolar

Teacher of the Deaf 35 years Solar supporter since 1970. Solar panel system owner since August, 2010
This entry was posted in ASL, going green, Misc., solar and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 401st blog post and washing solar panels

  1. Solar Power says:

    congrats on the milestone!

  2. Hi Dan,
    A good way to clean solar panel with bird droppings is with PowerBoost. It does not only clean the panel, it also leaves behind an invisible protective layer that repels dust, dirt, and air-born pollution for a longer-lasting clean. 🙂

    Great post. 🙂

  3. google says:

    I liked your article is an interesting technology
    thanks to google I found you

Leave a Reply

