Robert’s Sungevity Solar Panel system – update 3


“When I bought my current house in 2001 I did a major remodel including full insulation with additional Reflectix in the attic. I even insulated the interior walls. I also installed dual pane windows and insulated exterior doors. My energy usage was low compared to my neighbors but I was still hitting tier 3 billing. I have wanted to add a solar energy system on my house for some time but the initial cost was too much. When my friend Dan told me about Sungevity I was sold. Just before I got my iQuote, SCE lowered the baseline so in effect raised my electricity rates without going to the PUC. I suddenly was in tier 4 for the first time even though my usage from year to year is the same.
A new meter was installed on October 29 and right now reads 18 for an average of less than 2 KW per day!! Before going solar my average electric bill was $110 per month with a daily average of around 20 kWh. I cannot say for certain but at this rate by the end of the year I should be getting paid by SCE instead of me paying them. All of this with no money out-of-pocket.” – Robert

[Ed. note: Robert lives near Claremont so the amount of sunshine should be similar to mine. He has a 2.9kw system.]

About dansolar

Teacher of the Deaf 35 years Solar supporter since 1970. Solar panel system owner since August, 2010
This entry was posted in going green, solar and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

